Monday, 26 December 2011

Satisfaction - Satisfaction (1971)

Format: flac + cue + log
Genre: Jazz-Rock, Prog-Rock
Original Release Date: 1971
Label: Esoteric

2008 digitally remastered reissue of the eponymous debut album from the Jazz/Rock outfit, originally released in 1971. Satisfaction was a short-lived Jazz/Progressive outfit formed by trumpet and horn player Mike Cotton, a veteran of the early '60's British R&B boom. The group also included John Beecham (trombone), Derek Griffiths (guitar, vocals), Bernie Higginson (drums, vocals), Lem Lubin (saxophone) and Nick Newell (saxophone). John Beecham had previously been in the Mike Cotton Sound, whilst Griffiths had been a member of the highly regarded Artwoods with Keef Hartley and Jon Lord. By the late 1960's, Jazz was crashing headlong into the world of Rock and Mike Cotton assembled a group of like-minded musicians to explore the musical possibilities in this area. Esoteric.

A delightful reminder of the days when progressive rock and jazz seemed destined to forge a lifelong partnership, Satisfaction was the 1971 debut album by the latest incarnation of veteran trumpeter Mike Cotton's Mike Cotton Sound, fed through a name change (and logo) that must surely have had the Rolling Stones looking twice. Teaming up with producer David Hitchcock and fronted by vocalist Lem Lubin (ex-Unit 4+2), the brief appeared to be to follow the early path of Chicago and Blood, Sweat & Tears, but with sufficient space left over for a few more idiosyncratic diversions. And overall it works, at least within the so-subjective parameters of period jazz-rock, a genre that rarely scaled the peaks it deserved to, but never quite sank to the depths that it was capable of, either. ~ Dave Thompson